6 Rules of Success by Arnold Schwarzenegger

March 1, 2012 § 21 Comments

Arnold’s 6 Rules to Success:

1. Trust yourself

Many young people are getting so much advice from their parents and from their teachers and from everyone. But what is most important is that you have to dig deep down, dig deep down and ask yourselves, who do you want to be? Not what, but who. Figure out for yourselves what makes you happy, no matter how crazy it may sound to other people.

2. Break the Rules

Break the rules, not the law, but break the rules. It is impossible to be a maverick or a true original if you’re too well behaved and don’t want to break the rules. You have to think outside the box. That’s what I believe. After all, what is the point of being on this earth if all you want to do is be liked by everyone and avoid trouble?

3. Don’t Be Afraid to Fail

Anything I’ve ever attempted, I was always willing to fail. So you can’t always win, but don’t afraid of making decisions. You can’t be paralyzed by fear of failure or you will never push yourself. You keep pushing because you believe in yourself and in your vision and you know that it is the right thing to do, and success will come. So don’t be afraid to fail.

4. Don’t Listen to the Naysayers

How many times have you heard that you can’t do this and you can’t do that and it’s never been done before? I love it when someone says that no one has ever done this before, because then when I do it that means that I’m the first one that has done it. So pay no attention to the people that say it can’t be done. I never listen to, “You can’t.” (Applause) I always listen to myself and say, “Yes, you can.”

5. Work Your Butt Off

You never want to fail because you didn’t work hard enough. Mohammed Ali, one of my great heroes, had a great line in the ’70s when he was asked, “How many sit-ups do you do?” He said, “I don’t count my sit-ups. I only start counting when it starts hurting. When I feel pain, that’s when I start counting, because that’s when it really counts.” That’s what makes you a champion. No pain, no gain.
But when you’re out there partying, horsing around, someone out there at the same time is working hard. Someone is getting smarter and someone is winning. Just remember that. Now, if you want to coast through life, don’t pay attention to any of those rules. But if you want to win, there is absolutely no way around hard, hard work. Just remember, you can’t climb the ladder of success with your hands in your pockets.

6. Give Back

Whatever path that you take in your lives, you must always find time to give something back, something back to your community, give something back to your state or to your country.

Remember these 6 rules. Trust yourself, break some rules, don’t be afraid to fail, ingore the naysayers, work like hell, and give something back.

Arnold Schwarzenegger
Commencement Address
University of Southern California
May 15, 2009

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 21 Responses to 6 Rules of Success by Arnold Schwarzenegger

  • Anonymous says:

    I must say that this was without a doubt a great commencement address given by Arnold. Too bad he deviated from it in his marriage.

  • n3gUs says:

    You can’t always win… 😉

  • To Anonymous: Have you ever committed a sexual sin? Ever? Then I suggest you don’t judge Arnold, lest you show yourself to be a hypocrite.

  • maxwellsdsu says:

    I’m don’t believe Arnold’s transgressions outside of his professional life have anything to do with these 6 rules of his. I think of these as “The 6 Rules for *Professional* Success”, not personal/moral success.

    If you ask yourself the question of ‘How do you be a good father/mother’, or a good husband/wife, or how to build/maintain meaningful relationships with people…these 6 rules don’t apply for answering those questions. Which is fine, in my opinion. You have to limit the scope of the question you’re trying to answer.

    • Richard says:

      you can success in many ways and you can see these Rules in any way you want, it’s up to you how you see them.

  • danterious says:

    It’s just about dedication and achievement…
    The goal of Arnold was “being the greatest” in Bodybuilding, and nothing else (obviously).
    It doesn’t mean that, if you follow those rules, all your life in all it’s aspect will be perfect (how could it be ? seriously ?), BUT, if you have one goal, one dream, you can make it real… with those rules.
    It works for him, I think we can take a look 😉

  • Nujr says:

    Dear danterious,
    First try to become a successful man like arnold.Then tell all these bak bak baks…As from your comments i can figure out that you are a waste guy in your life.sawage…grow up man!!!

    • danterious says:

      Dear Nujr,
      I think you don’t understand what I’m saying… and, no, I’m not a “waste guy” or else.
      I think that the Arnold’s rules can inspire anybody in the way they choose.
      Why are you so mean ?
      No need to be Bill Gates to have an opinion on something.

      As from your “comment” i can figure out that you are a really sad person…
      Too bad for you but… I can’t help you with that.

    • Samuel says:

      I accept the challenge. I confirm what he says, now here’s what I’m gonna do: I’m gonna win the Olympic marathon, barefoot. I will go from Québec to California by running in less than half a year. Then I will destroy shoe companies. I will get rid of chemotherapy in hospitals to replace it with ketogenic diet treatment against cancer.

      I’m Samuel Lapointe. Hear that again: Samuel Lapointe.
      It might take two years, 6 years or 10 years but I will do what I just said. Remember my name, Samuel Lapointe. Trust me you’ll hear from me.

      You need somebody to prove these rules work? Well waste your time doing whatever you do, while I use them and make shit happen. Remember my name, cause I want you to recall what you said and who answered to you.

      There are two ways to fail: to quit, or to die. I will never give up, so remember my name so you can feel like a fool when you hear “Samuel Lapointe”.

      You can reply to this, but I will reply with my actions. I will get this done, so remember my name. When wonder how I succeeded, and that I answe “I paid attention when Arnold spoke”, then look at yourself, and look how much time you wasted.

  • dev says:

    i follow these ruless and really great results…. i salute to arnold

    • rule breaker says:

      Hang on, one of the rules is “break the rules”. Shall I follow these rules or break them? If I follow them I won’t be breaking the rules, therefore I won’t be following Arnie’s rules. But then I am breaking his rules. Oh no!

  • […] While having a splendid breakfast, I was browsing through some old Italian magazines. I found an article about Arnold Schwarzenegger and there was a really inspiring quote: “It does not matter if someone says no to you, but you should always feel yes”. I am not exactly sure if Arnold actually verbatim said it this way, but this is my humble translation service for you from the Italian. The message being that we should be positive and not give up when others think that what we are doing is impossible or unreasonable. I actually did a search later and found his speech, which is very inspiring. Link here. […]

  • saurabh says:

    its never late for wining

  • […] stated “The master has failed more times than the beginner has even tried”, whilst rule 3 of Arnold Schwarzenegger’s 6 Rules of Success […]

  • Jone MacRoll says:

    Hey folks,
    just a question. I am not absolutely sure how to understand “not what but who” in Rule 1. What is the essence here? Any clue or advice? Thanks.

  • […] Source: 6 Rules of Success by Arnold Schwarzenegger […]

  • […] Here is a link to the text version of his rules and why… 6 Rules of Success. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 6 Rules of Success by Arnold Schwarzenegger at Opisina.

meta

